Psychology Question

Fallen

Stood at the coalface
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jacklpyke.com
I was wondering if anyone knew the technical term for someone who, on seeing a message that says 'Don't touch that', will be compelled to touch.

And if anyone has links to any reputable articles... (biiiiig reps)

Thanking yous. :)

Edit: An adult that's taken normal human reaction beyond what's considered (hate the word) normal and safe. It's tied to sexual relations and agressive behaviour for the MC

Last edited:

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but possibly obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) or just a compulsive neurosis.

Wait for a better answer.

Archerbird

Nightowl
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Someone with poor impulse control, like ADHD/ADD.

A person with OCD might do that, seeing as someone with OCD often have poor impulse control as well. I think it even overlaps with some of the impulse control disorders?

theelfchild

Thinking up something clever
Registered
Reaction score
It wouldn't be OCD - those are ritualized compulsions intended to relieve anxiety. ADD could involve that, though not always.
ODD (oppositional defiant disorder) would definitely involve compulsions of that sort, though that is a childhood disorder (I think exclusively) and is probably due mostly to poor environment (read: bad parenting).
If I come across anything when I get around to studying for Abnormal Psychology (exam's in a week... oops), I'll come back and let you know.

Archerbird

Nightowl
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It wouldn't be OCD - those are ritualized compulsions intended to relieve anxiety. ADD could involve that, though not always.
ODD (oppositional defiant disorder) would definitely involve compulsions of that sort, though that is a childhood disorder (I think exclusively) and is probably due mostly to poor environment (read: bad parenting).