Yet another question about guns...

PtaHeru1:1

Banned
Reaction score
Hello all,
I was wondering about the overall stopping power of the Mac-11. In my novel I have an assassin shooting at a moving car from a two-story rooftop, and I'm wondering if a Mac-11 would be an effective way of riddling that target with bullets.

I was thinking about giving the assassin a 'bull-pup' sniper rifle like the 308 Winchester SRS; but I don't know how many rounds someone could get off with this kind of weapon. And there's a question of which weapon would be the most compact, being that the assassin would have to flee on foot afterwards to an awaiting vehicle.

Any info. on this would be greatly appreciated; and thanks in advance.

MoLoLu

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert but rooftop on moving car? Depends on angle, skill, distance etc.

A mac 11 will probably be better suited for running up to the window and firing through. From a range SMGs tend not to be the best bet (generally less accurate. You probably will hit but an assassin who works on probability isn't doing a very good job).

As for sniper rifles, A semi-auto you could probably get off 2-4 rounds again depending on angle, distance and whatnot. I'm not familliar with the SRS so I don't know if it's semi or bolt action. But regardless, setting up a shot with a sniper rifle on a moving target will take time. The idea is to use one bullet. You want that bullet to hit.

Honestly, against a moving car, why not go with a pre-planted bomb? Gonna be a lot more reliable than either weapon and doesn't require the shooter to be very good at what he does (which hitting moving targets requires).

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Is the target a political figure (that is, someone who is in a car that doesn't have to stop for lights and whatnot)?

Banned
Reaction score