Skinning

Darkshore

Stranger
Registered
Reaction score
Is it possible to skin and animal in the field and use it's hide for warmth without tanning it? Bit of a survival portion in my novel. The character is a very experienced hunter so skill isn't a question. I'm sure it could be done, but I'm wondering how long the hide would last?

MaryMumsy

the original blond bombshell
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I have no experience, but it is going to depend on things like what kind of animal and how well your person cleans the inside. Since it is cold enough to need it for warmth, I would think a week or so. If I needed a hide for warmth a bear or bison would be nice :D

We have a member who lives off the grid up north somewhere. I can't think of his handle right now. Maybe he'll wander along. I bet he would know.

MM

Wicked

Outcast Rogue
Registered
Reaction score
I'm pretty sure it would need to be cured in some manner or it would turn into a giant chunk of rawhide as soon as it dried.

If the temperatures are below freezing, then it probably wouldn't have time to dry and just turn into a giant frozen skinsicle because of the moisture in the hide. Which would be essentially the same result.

When my friend gets a fresh skin she doesn't have time to tan, she salts it, rolls it up, and keeps it in the freezer until she has time to work it.

lbender

Registered
Reaction score
If you're talking about a big animal, he could just use the whole animal for warmth. Slice it open and get inside. Messy, but it'll take a while to cool down.

The hide should help by itself for warmth, but it wouldn't last too long. I don't know how long, though.

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score
What lbender said. Problem is, it would obly work for a few hours and afterwards you'd be covered in blood and grime, ie wet which equals cold.