Is there a geneticist in the house?

Katana

On the edge...
Registered
Reaction score
I have a tough question that I have not been able to find an answer to ANYWHERE!

Would someone from the time of Jesus Christ or Alexander the Great have noticable genetic differences from modern humans? If not, how far back in human history would a geneticist have to go before those differences started showing up?

So if there is a geneticist out there, I would really appreciate some help with this. Not being able to find an answer is driving me crazy!

blacbird

Registered
Reaction score
I have a tough question that I have not been able to find an answer to ANYWHERE!

Would someone from the time of Jesus Christ or Alexander the Great have noticable genetic differences from modern humans? If not, how far back in human history would a geneticist have to go before those differences started showing up?

I'm not a geneticist, but I am a geologist specializing in paleontology, and the short answer is No. The human genome is extremely narrow in variance, and geneticists, based on DNA studies I don't pretend to understand, think that we modern humans have a narrow genetic origin due to some major constriction in the population about 75,000 years ago. From what I've read, the thinking is that the entire population of humans on the planet may have shrunk to as little as 3,000, and all 7 billion of us have derived from that minuscule group.

Of great interest is that the last colossal megavolcanic eruption known happened around 74,000 years ago, in Sumatra (Toba caldera). An event of that scale would have had an enormous impact on global climate for perhaps decades after, and likewise on the biology of the planet.

So you'd probably have to go back on the order of 100,000 years to see significant genetic variation in the human population. Although Neanderthals, who may or may not have constituted a separate species from Homo sapiens, existed up until about 40,000 years ago, as I understand.