Seeking advice from an English lawyer

Katana

On the edge...
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings. Though I'm a writer in Canada, the setting for my novel takes place in England. I would like to make sure everything is factual before sending out queries.

The scenario: a doctor is arrested for a suspected euthanasia in a hospital. I'm aware that physician-assisted suicide is illegal in England; can someone tell me what the procedure would be after that? For example, would there be a hearing in front of prosecutors or in front of a judge (or both) to determine if there is enough evidence to go to trial? If so, would the doctor be present for this hearing, or would the doctor only appear if it goes to trial?

This has been a tough one to research! :(

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer - one will be along shortly - but I reckon it might play out like this.
The doctor would be arrested, statements taken etc and would go for a hearing before a magistrate at which they would be present. The main outcome of this would be either they would be bailed awaiting trial (fairly likely) or remanded in custody (unlikely unless they were considered a flight risk). While they're bailed the Crown Proseceution Service would review the file and decide whether to proceed or not. The General Medical Council would most likely suspend the doctor and initiate their own investigation.

Buffysquirrel

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer either but I have been researching this area recently for my own WIP.

The police may arrest the doctor on suspicion of murder but they may equally only question him. It depends on how willing he is to co-operate with their investigation. If he's 'helping with their enquiries', he can leave the police station at any time.