PDA

View Full Version : Word Count

JDM1950
03-27-2012, 02:27 PM
I polished and re-re-re-re-edited my first ever manuscript, and have cut my original word count from 180,000 to 145,000 (it's a fanatsy epic). I have been querying agents for a few months with no serious positive replies. Is it because I mention the word count in my query letters (which almost all submission guidelines require), the agent sees the WC, and automatically thinks "too long for a first-time author?"
Believe me, I have agonized over some of the cuts I have already made. What remains in the MS is what I believe is a continuous flow of action and story-telling that I can't afford to cut too much more from. I know that a professional editor might slice a sentence or paragrph here or there, but is my suspicion in the above paragraph legitimate--that just seeing the word count garners a rejection?

Terie
03-27-2012, 02:48 PM
You must include word count in queries. 145K is a wee bit on the long side, but not horrendously too long for epic fantasy to make it an auto-reject. It's probably something else in your query that's responsible for not getting requests for partials/fulls. Or, if you're getting those requests, it's something else in the manuscript.

Parametric
03-27-2012, 03:10 PM
It's a big wordcount, but if the sample pages are amazing, the problem is surmountable. I'd suggest posting the query in QLH (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=174) and the first pages in SYW (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=67).

quicklime
03-27-2012, 03:59 PM
apologies in advance, but after seeing some of the other posts I would strongly suspect it has to do with query--you're long, but not horribly so for fantasy.

pop it over to qlh. sub your first 5 pages in syw as well.

lauralam
03-27-2012, 04:10 PM