Calling all Linguistic Experts

Spy_on_the_Inside

Registered
Reaction score
In my latest story, I am working on creating a new English dialect. It is spoken by the people of the Yukon after a war completely stop all incoming flights and imports leaving them completely cut off from the rest of the world. Over the course of almost two centuries, the adopted a nomanic and subsistance lifestyle and became completely illiterate.

One aspect I considered was because there was no longer any written language that the pronunciation of words changed little by little over the years until by the time the story takes place that by the time someone from the outside world finds them, they actually notice they don't quite pronounce words the same way the rest of the English world does.

Is this plausible, and what other evolutions of the language could occur given what we know?

FabricatedParadise

Can be bribed with circus peanuts
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a linguistics expert, but if I'm not mistaken, one of the big ways language changes over time is the meaning of the words. Think the difference between Old English and modern English. There are quite a few words that are the same, but mean something different now.

Your idea seems plausible to me. Way back when "you" used to be "ye" and what not. So it would stand to reason that sort of thing could happen.

Siri Kirpal

Swan in Process
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Sat Nam! (literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)

Actually, no. Unwritten languages change much faster than written ones do. Print locks features in, you see. I learned that one while watching The Story of Human Language, a DVD lecture series by John McWhorter put out by the Teaching Company. You can probably get a copy at your local library or on inter-library loan.

Blessings,

Siri Kirpal

Deleted member 42