The 238. Did anyone see this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaksen

Caped Codder
Registered
Reaction score
In MA, USA, across from a 17th century cemetery
238 writers received a mass rejection from a very well-known literary agency. Yes, we all received the same rejection at the same time with a list of all our email addresses included.

The bc function was confused with the cc?

(I used to know this. I was a teacher and often mass-mailed parents, but was always careful NOT to send the parents everyone's email address.)

Anyhow, several writers who are among the 238 are blogging and twittering, etc. about the phenomenon.

However, I did not query this agent, yet I am on the list.

Mysteries. I write them. I live them sometimes, too. :D

jaksen

Caped Codder
Registered
Reaction score
Last edited:

ChaosTitan

Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kellymeding.com

CACTUSWENDY

An old, sappy, and happy one.
Kind Benefactor
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
This is funny.

I have even been rejected by a company that I have never sent anything to. :D When I asked them about it....they said sorry. I wonder how the world they even got my addy.

Parametric

Registered
Reaction score
CC and BCC aside, who addresses an email: Dear 1 of 238 Authors I have to mail a standard reply to

I would say somebody who hit the send button by accident when they were still drafting a reply :tongue but I gather from reading the blog posts that the email you quoted was actually a parody response from one of the 238 rejectees, ending "I wish you success in finding representation as I know you will wish me success in learning how to use the bcc function in my e-mail." (I laughed.)

MysteryRiter

Murder isn't so bad...
Registered
Reaction score
Wow. And that's an agency I'd love to be repped by... Weird. But still funny, especially since you didn't query.

jaksen

Caped Codder
Registered
Reaction score