PDA

View Full Version : Thriller Fest

Linda Adams
12-22-2005, 05:27 AM
International Thriller Writers, which is just about a year old, is sponsoring a "Thriller Fest" to help promote the thriller genre. This will be a reader/writer conference in Arizona Jun 29-Jul 2. If you're interested in attending, we're coming up on the deadline before the price goes up.

http://www.thrillerwriters.org/thrillerfest/

the debster
12-27-2005, 06:48 PM
Linda -

As a thriller writer, I am looking forward to the thrillerfest coming up in June. I live in Scottsdale, AZ and went to the Poisened Pen conference where the ITW was brainstormed.

While looking over the web site, it appears that this is a conference more geared for the thriller reader. Will there be any opportunities for writers such as myself hoping to make contacts?

I've contacted the organizers and they state that although no agent/editor panels will be available, some of the writer's reps will be there.

Every writer I know who has secured an agent, and made publishing deals, found their success through personal introductions to reps--primarily through writers who have introduced them to their own agent.

So my question is: During this conference, is it a no-no to approach writer's like you to read a portion of my manuscript?

Thanks, Linda.
DJL

Shadow_Ferret
12-27-2005, 08:35 PM
What exactly is a "thriller?" I'm looking at the list of "Must Read Thrillers" and I would put them all in seperate categories. "Dracula" would be horror. "Tarzan of the Apes" would be adventure. "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" would be sci-fi. "Raise the Titanic" is adventure. "From Russia with Love" is a spy novel. In fact, nearly everything on that list I'd put in a different category, such as action, adventure, horror, sci-fi, spy or cold war novels, and so on.

Linda Adams
12-28-2005, 04:03 AM