PDA

View Full Version : this pastor's life

goldmund
03-08-2012, 08:02 PM
Hi!

I'm writing a script about a man returning to his hometown and this man has to be "good."

To raise the stakes, I thought about making him someone who has to be "good" by profession as well, so: a priest or a shrink.
Priest would be better, more metaphysical (doh) -- he could be transferred to his hometown to be the new leader of the parish.
But he has to have a wife and kids, so I can't make him a catholic priest and I have experience only with catholicism.

Two questions:
- Is there any source of knowledge about protestant priests, their everyday life, responsibilities to the parish, etc.? Wikipedia is only full of blabber about differences between different branches of protestantism, no help at all.

- Would a young pastor protagonist estrange you and be difficult to emphasize with? It's not a good-goodie Christian tale, a thriller, actually.

EzzyAlpha
03-08-2012, 08:15 PM
I thought about making him someone who has to be "good" by profession as well, so: a priest or a shrink.

Don't you know shrinks are evil.

I would say another kind of profession would be better. A lot of people aren't fond of priests.

Puma
03-08-2012, 08:25 PM
How about a college professor or school teacher? Would either of those work?

I had two uncles who were Lutheran ministers. I would call them normal people. One of them definitely could be opinionated and argumentative and could have alienated people. Puma

Siri Kirpal
03-08-2012, 10:58 PM
Sat Nam! (Literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)