Quantum Teleporation

Quentin Nokov

King of the Kitties
Registered
Reaction score
I need some help. I'm no physicists; I have no background in it, not even in quantum mechanics. Instead of relying on 'magic' I'd like to have scientific explanations and one explanation is how my characters can teleport.

I have always been fascinated with quantum theories and know that 'quibits' can be transferred across short space instantaneously, but what's teleported is more like information not an actual solid substance (to the best of my knowledge).

My question is could teleporting be explained through quantum mechanics or would there be flaws? It's fiction so I suppose there would be room for theories or plausible tweaking.

Second, this probably belongs in some astrophysics board, but would there be any flaw in using black-holes as a prison for my evil spirits? That's were I plan on keeping them by time the story is over so them escaping isn't even an idea, but could quantum teleportation explain how they were put there?

Your input is appreciated and please be gentle, I'm not smart like you guys.

A few things is my characters teleport without machines; they just *poof* and that's it. It's more fantasy than science-fiction, really but I still like scientific explanations rather than blaming everything on magic.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
My question is could teleporting be explained through quantum mechanics or would there be flaws?

IMO it's not the best explanation. It depends on how you want teleportation to work like. The most rational explanation I know of is the wormhole, which has been used many times of course. I think the whole quantum thing will be beyond most readers anyhow, so it might as well be magic if you're taking that route.