How to write an 'About Me'

Ginosion

Registered
Reaction score
I've been meaning to add an About Me section to my blog but I don't know where to start. I feel really anxious and unsure what to say and what not to say about me. I'm a very average person. Not to put myself down or anything. It's just I'm not a lawyer or a teacher or even someone who went to college. The reasons why I blog is because I like it, and that's about it. Domoviye gave me some really good advice, but I still feel unsure about what and how to sum myself up in just a few paragraphs. So what did you write (give me direct examples if you want)? What was your thought process when it wrote your 'About Me'? And do you even have one? If you don't, do you think it's really necessary or do you have the same problem I do?

Deleted member 42

Well, first of all, you don't have to write it and never change it.

You can revise, and honestly, you probably should.

What do you like? What are you favorite books, or movies, or places? Do they have something in common?

This is YOUR place, your writing, and you get to pick.

And you get to change your mind.

mephet

Registered
Reaction score
Website
unsheathe.wordpress.com
I have a similar problem. I've written an 'About' page, but I'm really not happy with it yet, and don't know if I should write an 'About me' page seperately, as part of the 'About' page, or whether I should write it at all.
Something interesting I've come across: Darren Rowse's tips on the subject. He has also written on 'About' pages. Despite neither of us really having any expertise, I think some of his advice is useful. Keeping it short and to the point is key.
Some questions a reader could want answers to on your 'About me' page could include: "Why do you blog?" and "Why should I care?"(Harsh, I know... The point is, what are you offering your reader? What sort of info can they take away from your blog?)
Just my two cents. Wish you luck! :)

Domoviye

Busy, busy, busy
Registered