Can you tell when it's right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
The first few drafts of my first novel seemed awesome to me. A surefire best-seller.

Then I started to really learn about writing, I began to see more and more flaws. Each new draft I wrote never really satisfied me like the first few had. That novel failed to find representation so I started another. This time I felt it lacked... something. I studied more writing techniques, got beta readers and re-wrote it. I still wasn't satisfied, but I started sending it out to agents without much success.

I pulled it and did another major re-write. This time agents liked it, but even so I wasn't happy. I was in the middle of a re-write when my agent signed me. She wanted to send it off to publishers right away. I wondered, because I knew it was missing something, but deferred to her experience.

The first round went okay. Several rejections, but one editor gave me two pages of notes.

So I took those notes, and the re-write I'd been working on before and spent three months gutting and re-finishing the novel. Now, for the first time in a long time I feel like I actually have a great manuscript on my hands. It doesn't have that 'missing something' feeling like it did in the past. I really feel like it could go somewhere, but frankly that scares the hell out of me. I've learned not to get my hopes up too high.

For those of you who are successfully published. Can you tell when it's right? Does feeling right in your gut correlate in any way to finding success with publishers and audiences?

Phaeal

Whatever I did, I didn't do it.
Registered
Reaction score
I knew in my gut that when I pulled my last MS from query status and rewrote it that THIS time I'd gotten it right.

Next time I'll listen to those pesky niggling doubts right away.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score