PDA

View Full Version : Amazon opening physical bookstores?

MysteryRiter
02-07-2012, 07:31 AM
Just saw this (http://bottomline.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/02/06/10331220-amazon-reportedly-looking-at-opening-retail-stores)article. And the Amazon takeover of the world continues... Thoughts?

Medievalist
02-07-2012, 07:38 AM
It's pretty much what I've been hearing for the last two years.

Wouldn't surprise me, either way.

James D. Macdonald
02-07-2012, 07:40 AM
Shoot, didn't anyone tell Amazon that the physical bookstore is dead and that within five years printed books won't exist any more?

thothguard51
02-07-2012, 08:02 AM
According to the article, Amazon is going to open a retail store in Seattle as a test to see if retail book stores can be profitable selling Amazon's growing list of imprints and kindle devices.

Investors are already skittish about Amazons profit margins. We all know Amazon sells their Kindles at a loss. I can't see them doing that in a retail store and having to pay employee salary, benefits, retail space, insurance, utilities, advertising, shipping to the store and returns, and still make a profit. Well, at lease they will not have to pay themselves for shelf space, display table, end caps or window displays. That might be an advantage in keeping pricing low...

Of course there is the tax issue as well, which people shopping on line don't have to pay right now. But in two years, Amazon will be charging taxes in some states and so they might be figuring that one of their advantages is gone, especially if you add shipping fees as well.

Personally, I feel like this is a gamble on Amazon's future beyond the net and an admission that people still want physical books.

kenthepen
02-07-2012, 08:03 AM
What kind of mortar does one use with ebricks? And will avatars be manning the sales counters?

It occurs to me that Amazon is participating in physical book sales only so the fascists have something to burn. . . . . . .

Medievalist
02-07-2012, 08:33 AM