PDA

View Full Version : Mention job in query letter?

Gman
01-26-2012, 09:42 PM
Hello all,

I'm currently editing my first MG contemporary fantasy manuscript and am getting ready to query agents in the near future. I'm a federal agent, and my question is whether or not I should mention that in the query? My job isn't related to my book, but could that help draw some interest from agents? Or do you think it would come off as a cheap gimmick?

Thanks,

Gman

Drachen Jager
01-26-2012, 10:13 PM
If your job has no direct relationship with the kind of book you're writing it really doesn't matter to an agent. I'd only put it in if they ask for a bio.

Besides, if I saw "Federal Agent" without specifics it would make me think of that crazy guy on Survivor who was always going on about how he was a Fed, even though the actual agency he'd been with was mostly involved with contractor fraud and other un-exciting things like that.

Gman
01-26-2012, 10:37 PM
If your job has no direct relationship with the kind of book you're writing it really doesn't matter to an agent. I'd only put it in if they ask for a bio.

Besides, if I saw "Federal Agent" without specifics it would make me think of that crazy guy on Survivor who was always going on about how he was a Fed, even though the actual agency he'd been with was mostly involved with contractor fraud and other un-exciting things like that.

Haha, that guy on Survivor was crazy, but hilarious. I work for a well known one, not an obscure agency like the "federal agent" on Survivor. I'm leaving it general here, but I would be specific on the query.

Drachen Jager
01-26-2012, 11:18 PM
It probably won't hurt to put it in, but it probably won't help either. For fiction, the body of the query is what makes or breaks you 99% of the time.

CrastersBabies
01-27-2012, 10:05 AM
Hey Gman! Welcome to the board. I wouldn't put it in the query letter unless it directly relates to your story (i.e. if you were writing a spy thriller or such).