Status
Not open for further replies.

ANicolai

Author of 'Alex'
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adamjnicolai.com
I made a blog post a couple days ago which I've been chewing over quite a bit, and I wanted to know what authors think.
The full blog post is in my sig if you want to read it before commenting, but I can spare you a click by summarizing:

I've updated my e-book on Amazon several times to correct minor issues and even make minor tweaks to the narrative. I haven't done anything major or structural, but what if I did?

I'm just starting out, I've only sold 47 books for the month, but there are plenty of bestselling Amazon authors out there who are self-published. Fast forward 10 years. What are the ramifications for self-censorship and even just basic "screwing up work" (think George Lucas) in a world where nearly all authors can retroactively modify their work however they want, whenever they want?

Was curious to get input from other authors on this idea. It's kind of weird that I can envision a future where I don't trust myself with access to my own novel. :) It feels like, at some point, I should not have the ability to change the ending of my own book.

Has anyone else thought about this?

mshaw2268

Registered
Reaction score
Website
itsjustmarty.blogspot.com
I've kind of wondered about that myself. I remember an eBook I reviewed once where I addressed certain things I didn't like in the story. The author later contacted me and said the story had been revised.

On one hand, my ego swelled a little bit because the author took my recommendations to heart, but I also wondered if that was really the best thing to do. After all, my review is only one opinion.

Before that moment, I never considered that authors could go back and alter the content and I think the option could do just as much harm as good. After all, I'm sure George Lucas never considered that he'd screw up Star Wars with all his constant revisions, but that's what he did.