Help with a Rejection Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sane_Man

Registered
Reaction score
I just received a response for a flash fiction submission. My first ever submission. Seemed a pretty standard rejection. "liked the concept" but "unfortunately will have to pass" and "noticed some even prose".

So I was wondering - and this is a complete newbie question alert - what exactly do they mean by uneven prose? Is it that some parts were good enough and others weren't? Or something else entirely? And is it okay for me to contact them and ask for a few pointers? Or would that be bad form? Thanks in advance to anyone who answers.

Katrina S. Forest

Registered
Reaction score
Website
katrinasforest.com
I assume the quote was "noticed some uneven prose" or you wouldn't be asking about it. :)

Could mean a bunch of different things. It's kind of impossible to tell without having read your piece.

I don't think replying to the rejection will get you anywhere. The most professional thing to do is take the feedback and move on. Re-read the story and run it by some beta-readers, mentioning the specific feedback. You could also post the piece in SYW once you have two more posts and do the same.

Best of luck.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
To me, "uneven prose" means that the language, style, tone, or some other aspect changes from one part to the next.

For instance, using elevated vocabulary in one sentence, and using gonna and gotta in the next would be uneven prose.

You're within only a couple of posts of being able to use the appropriate Share Your Work board. If you choose to post it there for feedback, mention specifically that you're seeking places where the prose is uneven, so people will bear than in mind as they critique.

Maryn, glad you subbed

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
There's no way of knowing exactly what they meant, except that someone there didn't like the writing.