Self-Published or Traditionally Published

How have you been published?

• Self-published

Votes: 11 6.7%
  • Traditionally published

Votes: 47 28.7%
  • Both

Votes: 28 17.1%
  • Not published yet but going to self-publish.

Votes: 13 7.9%
  • Not published yet but will try to be traditionally published.

Votes: 46 28.0%
  • Not published yet and will do both.

Votes: 19 11.6%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hilldawg

Registered
Reaction score
I'm curious about those published authors who have chosen the self-published path over the traditional path. Why did you choose this path? For those who are traditionally published - did you ever consider self-publishing?

As a librarian, I'm trained not to trust self-published books. There just aren't enough sources for reviews of the self-published market. Further, as a reader, I've found many of them to be disappointing or downright terrible. However, self-published books are rapidly taking over the market while traditional publishing houses are shrinking and disappearing daily. If self-publishing is the future, how can the consumer select the meat from the gristle? How do self-published authors ensure their works are ready for the public eye without a team of professional editors looking them over?

Hill

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
You might want to ask those in the self-publishing sub forum, as that's where people with the most experience hang out.

(And, FWIW, self-published books are not "taking over" the market. Very few sell enough copies to even get noticed; those that have sold exceptionally well are making news because it's the "new" thing of the moment.)

Hilldawg

Registered
Reaction score
Last edited:

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com