PDA

View Full Version : Google and SOPA



Drachen Jager
01-18-2012, 11:08 PM
I can't test the theory, since I live in Canada, but I understand Google.com is shut-down for today.

If you absolutely need to do some research you might be able to use google.ca or another non-US google. Worth a try. Google.ca has been working fine for me today.

robjvargas
01-18-2012, 11:09 PM
Google's up. They've blacked out their logo, sort of like what they do for holidays.

Vemy Paw
01-18-2012, 11:22 PM
My google.com is totally fine.

Jersey Chick
01-18-2012, 11:56 PM
Google's been working fine for me all day. The logo is blacked out, and if you click on it, you get info on SOPA & PIPA.

Drachen Jager
01-19-2012, 12:25 AM
Well, nevermind then... I heard on the radio that Google would be stopping service for the day, I guess they had it wrong.

Kenn
01-19-2012, 12:37 AM
I can't test the theory, since I live in Canada, but I understand Google.com is shut-down for today...

If you go to the bottom right-hand corner of your Google screen, there should be an option for Google.com.

Note: I've gone off Google since Google Instant came into being. I find it useless and it can gum things up. Unfortunately, the only way to switch it off is to enable cookies, which then clutters my computer with those instead. That said, I think Google is still an excellent search engine, even though it's no longer my first choice.

robjvargas
01-19-2012, 01:31 AM
Well, nevermind then... I heard on the radio that Google would be stopping service for the day, I guess they had it wrong.

<GASP!>:flag:

You mean a reporter (who works in the Entertainment Industry) got a tech issue wrong!

Oh, the humanity!

:sarcasm <- did I really need that?

Steve Collins
01-19-2012, 01:55 AM
Wiki is however closed.

LJD
01-19-2012, 03:48 AM
If you go to the bottom right-hand corner of your Google screen, there should be an option for Google.com.

(like the OP, I'm in Canada)
Huh. I never noticed this before. So I clicked on it, and I still don't see a black logo, although it no longer says Canada, and: Google.ca offered in: franšais (http://www.google.ca/setprefs?sig=0_Xvu-1A8tBjsR_eIqyOfNorjbrPQ=&hl=fr)
has changed to: Tell Congress: Please don't censor the web! (https://www.google.com/landing/takeaction/)

Kenn
01-19-2012, 03:04 PM
(like the OP, I'm in Canada)
Huh. I never noticed this before. So I clicked on it, and I still don't see a black logo, although it no longer says Canada, and: Google.ca offered in: franšais (http://www.google.ca/setprefs?sig=0_Xvu-1A8tBjsR_eIqyOfNorjbrPQ=&hl=fr)
has changed to: Tell Congress: Please don't censor the web! (https://www.google.com/landing/takeaction/)
They're obviously doing something. I don't see the option appear anymore. If I type in the address (.uk or .ca), it flashes briefly on the screen before disappearing.

This might go some way to providing an explanation.
http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/2139573/google-bit-sopa-protest-day?WT.rss_f=Home&WT.rss_a=Google+does+its+bit+for+SOPA+protest+day