PDA

View Full Version : Who to trust?

Infra
01-13-2012, 07:52 AM
Howdy y'all . . .

I am quite new to the whole 'writing a book and publishing game' it isn't really funny . . . I am feeling quite lost.

I have written a book - futuristic fantasy, cover is almost done. The next hurdle is to publish it. I have researched some of the pay for publishers (or as I've learned - vanity/subsidy publishers) and have not like what I've seen.

The other option that keeps cropping up is the self-publishing. This intrigues me, but I am not sure how to proceed.

Can someone please point me in a direction to start in?

Thanks!

French Maiden
01-13-2012, 08:10 AM
Welcome Infra.
I'm afraid I cant really help you with your dilema as I am still writing my first serious WIP.

Any way, wecome aboard and enjoy.

SBibb
01-13-2012, 08:11 AM
Well, the quote I've heard with publishing books is that "money should flow to the writer," so you wouldn't likely want to pay to have your book published.

Why do want to self-publish versus traditionaly publish? If you're looking to create a broad market, there's quite a bit of work that goes into self-publishing.

My first suggestion would be to start by reading the sticky posts at the top of this thread, as that will give you a good place to start, and then evaluate what you want from publishing your novel.

Old Hack
01-13-2012, 12:02 PM
Infra, welcome to AW.

If you want to get a publishing deal with a trade publisher, you don't produce your own cover: the publisher does everything for you, apart from writing the book.

If you self-publish then you have do to everything yourself, because you are the publisher.

I suggested that you find out a lot more about publishing before you go any further, so that you can be sure you're taking the route into print that's best for you. AW is a great place to start.

J. Tanner
01-13-2012, 01:06 PM