Capitalisation question - artistic movements / styles

Zelenka

Going home!
Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,
Probably a stupid question but would you capitalise things like gothic or romanesque or renaissance when describing a building's architectural style? It seems to look odd no matter what way I do it.
Thanks in advance,
Z

Fallen

Stood at the coalface
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jacklpyke.com
Good question. I'd capitalise. It's a proper noun for a certain type of architecture, just like a style of painting:

Even the contrasting greens and browns of the daylight woodland had taken on a style of Romanticism, using mist and fading darkness to distort any definable contours....

But that's just my opinion.

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
I'm an artist (not actually a writer). They are capitalised, the Renaissance just because it always has been ever since the Italians coined the term to describe themselves, Gothic and Romanesque because they are named for peoples, the Goths and the Romans.

Let's leave aside that Gothic was an insulting term coined during the Renaissance to denigrate their immediate artistic forbears. And I'm not sure Romanesque was intended as flattery either.

Zelenka

Going home!
Registered
Reaction score
I'm an artist (not actually a writer). They are capitalised, the Renaissance just because it always has been ever since the Italians coined the term to describe themselves, Gothic and Romanesque because they are named for peoples, the Goths and the Romans.

Let's leave aside that Gothic was an insulting term coined during the Renaissance to denigrate their immediate artistic forbears. And I'm not sure Romanesque was intended as flattery either.

So what about something like 'Early Gothic'? Both capitals?