The Goal Post

powhitetrashomie

Hello Everyone. I've been a published freelance writer for many years but have been side-lined for several years. Now that my life is calming down some, I'd really like to get back into writing. The easiest way for me to do that is to set goals. I used to run several message boards for writers when I was editor of Writer's Workshop Review Magazine (before the Internet was the Internet), one of whice was called The Goal Post. Hopefully some of you will decide to make use of this tool that's always served me well.

Here's how it works. You post your goals for the week (writing goals certainly but daily living goals as well). They you come back in a week and report how you did. It sort of helps keep you on track with where you want to go in life.

Goal Post for the Week Of 9/22/03
1. Do a brainstorming session.
2. Complete my first 10K walk in 4 years this week.
3. Make a decision on whether or not to revise a novel I finished some time ago to get it market ready.
4. Drink water like a fish!!!

That's all there is to it. Feel free to ask questions or jump right on in with a post of your own.

Do something to make someone smile today, you'll be glad you did.

Greenwolf103

Goal setting

Hi,

Good ideas. Goal setting can be very productive and help you stay focused on your day-to-day tasks.

I just wanted to comment on the 10K thing: If you haven't walked 10K in 4 years, don't you think that's a little too far to go when you just get back into it? Maybe start at 5K and work your way up to 10?

I used to be a runner so I know how far the 10K can be. Argh!

Good luck to you! :)

--Dawn

rtilryarms

goals

I was a runner in my younger days. Then they repealed the Prohibition Act............................................

Greenwolf103

Being a "runner"

LOL! :rollin

Good one, rt!

Eh, but you all know I don't mean "that kind" of runner, right?? Seriously! I *wish* I could run again! :( Stupid leg injury!!

powhitetrashomie

Re: Goals