The Nth Query Round

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quickbread

Registered
Reaction score
Somewhere between the beginning and the end
Hi everyone,

So I'm getting ready to throw my novel back in the ring with agents. Here's my situation, which I'm hoping for a little advice on.

I've been querying my novel on and off for two years. Since then, my query and novel have both gotten 100 times better. I've had some partial/full requests from some top NYC agents, and some have said really positive things about my writing, the voice, characters, etc. but no takers yet.

Last summer, I got fantastic feedback from an agent who rejected me with an offer to reread if I'd revise. She gave me a long list of detailed comments and we had a call about it. Her comments were super insightful and pointed out some serious deficits in the manuscript. It really needed a structural overhaul.

This agent emailed me around Halloween to see how my revision was coming along and reiterated that she's excited to read it. Which is really great and all. But here's my reservation: this agent is very new. She's definitely legit, but has only been an associate agent for a two-person, no-name agency for one year. She has an education in publishing and has interned at houses/literary agencies. I've been following her blog and Twitter feed since our call, and my impression is that she's savvy, smart, hungry and sincere. I have a hard time imagining she won't move eventually to another lit agency where she might gain more experience, but I can't count on that. She seems like a fast learner ... Her firm has placed books with good houses but mostly nonfic. She's still making initial contacts and getting to know editors in my genre (lit. fiction).

So...my manuscript is almost ready to send to her. As a hedge, I thought I should also requery the NYC agents who rejected but praised the ms before, plus some dream agents I didn't shoot for in earlier rounds.