Vocabulary Improvement,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paper Princess

I'm a newbie, bee nice to me :P
Registered
Reaction score
Hello AWes!

I am not a native English speaker, therefore my English vocabulary is moderate, I want to know how to improve vocabulary for my reading and writing as well..

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Just an idea . . .

If I were you I might get some books meant for older children (say, the nine to 13-year old age group). Read a passage or a page every day. Any word you don't know, look up on an online website like dictionary.com.

Of course, there are books especially meant to improve someone's vocabulary, but using those might get boring after a short while.

Also, there are lists online of commonly misspelled words. You might do a Google search and find those.

Last edited:

Sea Witch

Stirring the word cauldron
Registered
Reaction score
Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
I think I can help.

For English: I recommend subscribing for free to A Word a Day here. They email you a word every day with the definition and examples in usage. It's very good. I've been getting it for years.

In the 80's I lived in France for 6 years. When I moved there I didn't speak a word of it. When I left, I could pass for French. There were 2 things I found immensely helpful:

1. watching television in whatever language you want to learn. especially a drama like a soap opera. It's much easier to pick up vocabulary when you can watch the faces and understand the context.

and

2. every day I would find a new word that I didn't know, like from a book or newspaper, and I would make an effort to use that word in conversation at least twice during the day. (which wasn't easy, but it was fun, like a game).

I hope this helps

Little Ming

Registered
Reaction score