Worst Food Experience?

Elaine Margarett

High and Dry
Registered
Reaction score
What was the worst thing that happened to you, food related?

Mine was when I worked as a military photographer. The depot where I worked was manned by two reserve units from Puerto Rico. One of the soldiers returned from PR with a treat for everyone -- a popular candy that everyone loved and was excited to receive. It looked like pixie stixs--those flavored sugar candy in straws.

Of course they wanted me to try it. <g> I was actually up on a ladder in the middle of a shoot. I opened it, tipped my head back and let it flow down my throat.

OMG, it was granulated, sugar-coated coffee. I HATE coffee, can't abide the taste even in mocha flavored things.

I turned white and then green (at least that's what I was told by several eye-witnesses) broke out in a sweat and ran for our single, unisex bathroom hoping it was unoccupied. I was shakey the rest of the day and couldn't finish the shoot until the next day.

Everyone felt awful for me; especially Omar, the soldier who gave me the candy. I was embarrassed, as was the young Marine I surprised in the bathroom.

Any one else have a story they'd like to share?

Last edited:

robjvargas

Rob J. Vargas
Banned
Reaction score
My first ever taste of spinach was overcooked. I took a spoonful, it melted, slimy and slick in my mouth.

Just the sight of cooked spinach makes my jaw ache. I can't. I just can't.

Interestingly, I like the raw stuff in salads.

LilGreenBookworm

I write with crayons.
Registered
Reaction score