Which is Better?

Quiggs1982

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.maryellenquigley.com
I'm taking the plunge and attempting to create a cover for a book I plan to self publish next year. I'm a newbie at photo manipulation and using Gimp, so I don't really know what I am doing.

I took a few pictures from Fotolia to see if I could pull something off. (Excuse the watermarks. I am just trying this out and don't want to buy the photos until I know for sure which ones I want.)

The story is paranormal romance - my take on vampires. It takes place in Chicago, hence the skyline on the one cover.

Do either of these covers look any good? Which one is better and what should be changed?

Version 1
http://www.flickr.com/photos/44553377@N06/6553013645/

Version 2
http://www.flickr.com/photos/44553377@N06/6553013557/

Last edited:

merrihiatt

Writing! Writing! Writing!
Absolute Sage
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Website
merrihiatt.com
The book title stands out more on the second one and I like the way the city looks. Don't care for the image of the couple at the top.

I like the moon in the first one, the couple look a bit... plastic (not sure that's the right word).

In both, it's very hard to read the author's name. You want people to see your name, and remember it so they will purchase more of your books!

Quiggs1982

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.maryellenquigley.com

merrihiatt

Absolute Sage
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Website
merrihiatt.com
I really like the second one. The first one is clear and well-balanced, but seems a bit plain (if that makes sense). Is it possible to put your name below your book title, placing both with the black behind. Your name is getting lost in the water highlights. If that doesn't work, maybe putting a black background across the bottom with your name inside it. Just so your name stands out more.