Questions re: bullet wound recovery

GillianColbert

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.blackdoorpress.com
Hi - Some questions: My main character is shot with a .357 in the shoulder. The bullet goes cleanly through. First, is that even realistic. He is a large man, 6'2 healthy, good physical shape.

What kind of recovery time will he have in the hospital?
Will physical therapy be required prior to discharge?
Will physical therapy be required at all after discharge?
Any specific treatment regimens specific to a bullet wound I should write in for plausibility?
Would he be able to shower during his stay, or would he require a sponge bath?
Lastly, would a female nurse clean a man's genital region during a sponge bath?

Thanks in advance for all help!!!

toogrey2

toogrey2
Registered
Reaction score
lol its been a long time since i worked in a hospital and i dealt more with industrial accidents. i have no idea about bullet wounds

but the man would probably get some pt in the hospital mainly passive range of motion with follow-up after he is released.

as far as wound care- we would sometimes pack a wound with (ah man i forgot the name) it was long narrow strip of gauze that was soaked in an antibotic. it came in same bottle. i'll remember the name in a day or two. it would keep the wound open and free to drain so it could heal from the inside out. the nurse or wound care tech would use forceps the remove the dressing and repack.

he probably would have a sponge bath the first day or two and the nurse would include his genital area. but these are nurses. there is nothing they haven't seen before. if the guy is cute or hung nice the whole floor will know but if a male gets too frisky with a pretty nurse, his next bath would be with nurse cratchet.

sorry i can't remember the name and things may have changed as for as wound care. like i said it has been awhile. hope this helps and happy holidays.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score