PDA

View Full Version : Always remember how good a writer you are...

butterfly
12-16-2011, 02:58 PM
...because there will be times when you get upset or depressed and think you suck at everything, especially your writing, and will downward spiral into thoughts like "I can't write!" or "I'm not a very nice person" or "who cares anyway?". DON'T GO THERE!

I was feeling a bit bluesy and decided to not take it out on my writing but pulled out some file folders that I keep on inspiration - mag articles, snippets of things to think about, articles I've written that are funny and that I love - and after reading through all these immediately became happy. Just like that - instant happy.

I'm a good writer. I can say that. I'm good. No one can take that away from me. I may not always write great but no one always pitches a great game, do they?

Anyway, I wanted to post this on my blog but not many go there (sad, pathetic plea for blog attention) so I decided to put it here because I don't want you - meaning all of us - to ever think that when we get into a writing slump or relationship slump or find out your kid doesn't really like you or you get bit by the dog, it isn't inclusive. One sucky thing doesn't strengthen your life chain it just snaps one link. All you have to do is replace it. Look at all those you have left (pretend you have labeled them) and remember how great you are at writing, your job, your parenting skills (or your decision to not have kids), relationship skills, cooking, skiing, bungee jumping, animal training, or whatever all else you do in life.

Remember how good you are and when you forget that, at least with your writing, go back and read what you thought was brilliant and remind yourself that you are a good writer. Writing is hard and lonely and liberating and refreshing and we can do it!

Okay...have to leave for work. Have a great day!

Phaeal
12-16-2011, 05:04 PM