I know 'size doesn't matter', but let's be honest. How many words a day? On average?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul

Banned
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been done before, but well, i, em, can't find it.

*cough*

(PS, blame scarlet peaches for this thread.)

Reaction score
I'm a feast or famine writer. My average is probably quite...well, average, but I don't stick to that. I can go from writing over 10k a day (yes, really) to nothing for ages.

I'd like to stick to, say, 2k a day because then I could predict my own output. I've tried to discipline myself to do so, but...I resist for whatever reason. My willpower isn't strong enough.

So, like I said, feast or famine. It could be 10k, it could be 1k.

Reaction score
Well, 2k is only what I'd like to average out as.

Maybe I should make that my new year's resolution, although I aimed for 1,500 a day in 2011 and failed miserably.

Had a few 5k+ days though.

Good God; you've put an idea in my head that will really play with my OCD. Using a spreadsheet for a daily word count next year and working out my average on the 31st December.

That's if the Mayans are wrong and we don't all die on the 21st.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
It depends a little on what I'm writing. Last novel I cracked 2k on all but a handful of days and I had a streak of 3 and 4k days. The current one I struggle to crack 1k a day.

The Lonely One

Why is a raven like a writing desk?
Registered
Reaction score
Sadly very little lately. A short story (5kish) every now and then. Mostly I'm submitting already written stories and working on grad school stuff right now.

Hiroko

Which of them was the machine?
Registered
Reaction score
On a good day, 1-2k. I have written more in a day several times, but I'm not always on a roll.

On a bad day, 50-100 words. I got away with just seven once.

This'll sound bad, but I don't write every day as it is. :Ssh: Sometimes I go without.

ohthatmomagain