Brief author bio? Ummm....

Status
Not open for further replies.

September

my word processor
Registered
Reaction score
What's the best way to formulate a brief author bio? Particularly if you are thinking about submitting short stories? What information should be in there and what is unnecessary? I'm trying to write one and can't think of a thing to say. I'm boring. I'm a college student and have never been published before. How did you all come up with your bios?

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I totally angsted over my first one, too, but later developed a far more breezy attitude about them.

First, I think of what the readers of the publication that will use the bio might want to know. I'd write something different for a horror magazine than a Christian one. (Smart, huh?)

Consider something basic like September is the pen name of a full-time student at a Midwestern university. During breaks, she returns to her family home in Michigan, spending time with her parents, two siblings, and Gladys, a golden retriever. This is her first published story.

I'm always careful not to give information which could identify me well enough for someone deranged to find me. Others are not so paranoid.

Maryn, glad to meet you

Polenth

Mushroom
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.polenthblake.com
If you mean the bio that goes on the end of a published story, only include it if they specifically ask for it in the submission guidelines. Most places will ask for it after you're accepted. You're aiming for 2-3 sentences, unless told otherwise. Start with your full name and use third person. Other than that, anything goes... some bios are plainer and some more creative. It doesn't really matter what you say.

I always look over the bios at a place, to get a feel for whether they want a plainer one or not. Sometimes, I'll write a bio for a specific story (I did for Nature, as they also have a much shorter bio limit).