PDA

View Full Version : Continue College, or Pursue a Dream?

mortimerjackson
12-06-2011, 07:19 AM
So it's registration season here at SFSU, and after having been here one semester, I'm conflicted to all hell. I, like many, see college as something of a double-edged sword. I get a BA, which makes me eligible to find a professional job, but that doesn't mean that I'll get a professional job. Also, there's the issue of money, and how tuition rates keep spiking up at around the same time that administrator wages goes up (what an odd coincidence). Seeing the tuition bill for the next semester has only disheartened me even more. Especially since I know that it isn't my education in college that will land me a job, but rather my talents, ie: the things I can prove I can do.

You see, for the past four to five months I've been a self-published author. Fiction writing is something that I've always loved to do, and if I had things my way, it would be my job forever... and ever... sha la la la...

Anyway, the point is this. I've been doing self-publishing to basically build myself a resume. I want to one day either land myself a publisher, or a job where I write for some production company. So with this in mind, for the past four, five months that I've been doing this self-publishing gig, I've been able to net about 600 units in sales for my first book, and I've gotten several thousand downloads/views on all the short stories I post online. My point is that I'm doing alright. Not great. But for someone with basically no resources or marketing savvy, I'm doing a lot better than I thought I would.