Why you guys are awesome

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
Learning to write well is hard. I don't think any of us would disagree. I'm now going to ramble sappily about why you people rock. You have been warned.

First of all, when I first came here I learned a lot--and I'd been writing for years. It wasn't like I was a complete noob. Most of that was industry knowledge. What I didn't expect was to meet really great, awesome people who are not only encouraging, but who could help me attain a level of ability that I would never have reached otherwise, or at least not for another decade or so.

I won't mention names (you know who you are), but the people I've met here and the friends I've made have been so helpful, and I'm so thankful. Let me explain.

My current book has been kicking my ass for some time now. It's not the writing itself. I actually think I'm pretty darn good at that part, if I'm allowed to say so. But this one has been an attempt at a complex plot, something I'm less skilled in. In fact, plot is still the hardest thing for me, even when I'm working linearly.

This book has been so hard my boyfriend has repeatedly asked why I don't just set it aside and write something else. I suppose the most honest reason is because I'm stubborn, but I thought about this today, and I came to a more accurate realization: it's because I'm learning something new.

Today someone read my new beginning, which was the rewrite of the old new beginning, which was a complete rewrite of the old old beginning which I'd labored over and outlined to death. I knew what the subplots were, where it was going, all that good stuff, but structure? With subplots? What on earth is that?