Fork in the road: Which is the path to success?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scribe4264

Sockpuppet
Banned
Richard Paolinelli Sock
Reaction score
Ok, here is my dilemma:

I have two projects at similar stages in their development.

One is non-fiction about the life of a former major league baseball player from back in the early part of the last century.

The second is a sci-fi novel.

I have 20+ years experience as a newspaper sports writer/editor while I am just starting out as a fiction writer.

Should I go forward with the non-fiction book and hope my experience increases my chances to land an agent, as well as a publisher, and once published then proceed with the fiction work?

Or, roll the dice on finding an agent willing to work with a newbie fiction writer?

Which seems to be the way to go to maximize my chances of getting published?

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
Non-fiction would be the way to go to maximise your odds.

There are far more fiction writers, and more non-fiction books sell. Plus, you actually have the background to write the non-fiction.

You could probably query the non-fiction now, many agents will take a proposal and a sample chapter to work from for non-fiction with a qualified writer.

rainsmom

Feeling like an old timer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.melissa-c-alexander.com
Write the proposal for the nonfiction. While you're looking for an agent to rep it, work on the sci-fi novel.

Novels have to be finished and polished before you query them. If you have a publishable novel, agents don't care that you're unpublished.

NeuroFizz

The grad students did it
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score