PDA

View Full Version : Kindle Publishing-offering something for free

AnthonyJones
11-17-2011, 07:04 AM
I'm experimenting the kindle publishing by putting something on there for free.

Has anyone done this before? Because I've done everything else, and I see that there isn't an option to set it up for free.

Soccer Mom
11-17-2011, 07:11 AM
I'm going to move this to the self-publishing forum. Folks there have offered things for free on the Kindle and they can talk you through the procedure.

There isn't a free option on Kindle but there are ways to have Amazon list your book as a free download.

AnthonyJones
11-17-2011, 09:48 AM
Does anybody know how to get Amazon to offer free downloads for my short story? I'm new at this whole thing, but I did just submit it a few minutes ago at 99c for now.

merrihiatt
11-17-2011, 10:01 AM
Anthony, you can read how I did it HERE (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=227945)

Summonere
11-17-2011, 08:35 PM
I have a story on Kindle that just went freebie a week ago. It's a science fiction short story.

I offered it free months ago on Smashwords, first, which unlike Amazon, offers that option. Through Smashwords' distribution, the story was also offered free on Barnes & Noble's site, the Apple store, and elsewhere. (I could have sped up part of this process by submitting the story to B&N on my own.)

When I made the story available on Amazon, I picked the lowest price possible, which was 99 cents, wondering how long it would take Amazon to find the free versions of the story and price match it. Several months later, with no price matching in sight, I decided to speed up the process.

On the story's Amazon sales page, under Product Details, there's a link, “tell us about a lower price.” I clicked on that link and reported the $0.00 Smashwords, B&N, and Apple store prices. Seems it took about a week or more for Amazon to price match, thus making the story free.