Status
Not open for further replies.

KodyBoye

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kodyboye.com
I think I may be in the wrong section for this. If so, mods, please feel free to move it. I see what I'm about to ask as more a question than anything.

So... hello everyone. I'm Kody Boye. I'm a fiction writer and, also, a community college student, one with no focus or projected career goal at that. My current major in college is... guess... 'General Studies.' To say I'm not happy with that would be an understatement, and though I've had many a discussion with people recommending different fields of study for me to get a degree in (Journalism, English, History, etc.,) I've got a bit of a conundrum. Basically put, the three I've mentioned above just don't do much for me. There's no spark, no interest, no... heart, I guess you could say. I don't want to be one of those people who get a degree just to have it for job purposes and then be stuck in a miserable position. I know what I want to do with myself--write--and while I wholeheartedly believe I have the potential to make a career for myself with my writing, as I've somewhat developed one now, I'm trying to figure out if studying creative writing as a whole would benefit me, as I'm well aware that a very low percentage of writers actually make enough money to sustain themselves financially through their craft.

A few things I should probably point out before this article goes any further:

- I've been of the opinion for a while now that studying creative writing would be useless because I know the mechanics of writing, story-structuring, that sort of thing, etc. from some six years of critiquing from groups and editors, so this is a major concern for me. This is something I've been reconsidering for a while, especially since the idea struck me that I could possibly teach it if I actually decided to get a degree in the field.