Buried treasure

MarkEsq

Clever title pending.
Registered
Reaction score
In the wilds of Texas. Actually, the liberal oasi
Imagine a rich Frenchman who wants to bury treasure, perhaps because he knows the Revolution is coming. Does anyone have any ideas (or suggestions) as to:

-- what kind of container/chest he might use;
-- what condition such container would be in after about 100 years underground;
-- what sort of goodies he might collect and bury.

This might be one of those instances where I can just let my imagination go wild but in case we have any historians or, well, pirates here, I thought I'd see if I could get input. :)

Thanks!

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
I would imagine a metal lined, airtight, waterproof container would be best for anything made of paper. But gold would be ok buried in anything, I think.

I'm no expert, though.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
If he's burying it for his own use, he'd probably just use a stout wooden chest. That would last just fine for the 5-10 years he might be able to recover it in.

Condition depends largely on what part of France and what type of soil. If he's in a hot-dry region it will be in far better shape than if he buries it in a swamp.

As to what he'd bury, gold is always good. Gemstones, set or unset. You're the author, make it up!

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no historian, but consider your facts. If this rich guy goes out and purchases or has made a special chest designed to be extra-secure, he's announcing to all of France that he's about to hide his valuables. Times of social discord or upheaval are also times when thieves and thugs thrive because the law and order folks are otherwise engaged.