Help please! Putting together proposal to edit small mag

live4today

Registered
Reaction score
Hello board members!

First time on "this" board, and I'm hoping someone out there can offer me a bit of guidance.

I have what sounds like a good opportunity to possibly edit a smallish business-type magazine. I met with the publisher, and he wants me to put together a proposal.

What would be involved would be 8-10 stories per issue (plus sidebars and short interest pieces), issues published every 6 weeks, finding stories, editing all stories, finding freelance writers (and writing myself), assisting with final layout (as in, yes that looks good, no I'd change that, etc), writing articles for certain business people (ghostwriting), and any other editor duties (I'm not sure what these would all be, I've never done this before!). I would also be assisting in selling advertising for the magazine.

I have a few copies of the magazine to study, it's about 22-30 pages each issue. On a side note, as far as what they pay, I just got a writing assignment for another magazine they publish and they are paying me $.25/word for a 1,000 word story. The publisher did tell me that their usual rates for freelancers are $.10/word to what they are paying me for this story.

Any ideas on putting together this proposal? I'd really appreciate any guidance anyone can offer.

Thanks!

Denise

kohuether

Registered
Reaction score
I am a little confused. Is the proposal to edit the magazine, or for a query letter to pitch a story?

If it is a query, I can help. If it is a proposal to edit the magazine, I can't help- but I'll do my best to point you in the right direction. :)

live4today

Registered
Reaction score
Sorry I wasn't very clear - it's a proposal to edit (and write for) the magazine. I'm getting the query thing down pat. The publisher actually wanted to talk to me based on a recent assignment they gave me for a different mag they publish.

Thanks!

Lauri B

I Heart Mac
Absolute Sage