How many queries/week?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RoseReifsnyder

Hi everyone,

Melina invited me to stop by this forum...so I raced right over. Nice to meet you!

Here's a question that plagues me. How many queries should a serious newbie send out every week? How many queries CAN a serious newbie send out every week?

My current goal is three per week. Is that a sure road to poverty? It seems to me that a good query requires research and a couple rewrites, but I'm always reading about writers who send out five a day - a day! - or more. How do they do it?

Please enlighten me.

Rose

PS - Here's one of my 2005 New Year's Resolutions: publish a story that pays at least 35 cents a word (please don't recoil in horror. Remember, I'm a newbie).

Melina

Rose-

How great to see you here! As for your question, it's really subjective. It all depends on the time you're willing/able to spend on your writing. Three queries a week is a very respectable goal, and should keep you good and busy. If you're able to write full time, you may find you're able to do more. You're right that you should research your subject before you query-an editor may have questions about your project before he/she gives you the assignment, and you'll want to be able to answer them.

Your goal for the year is a good one--no one here recoiling, or turning up their noses. Many writers get their first few clips by writing articles for no pay. Those clips help them win paying-and then better paying-assignments. 35 cents a word is nothing to sneeze at.

Please, check in from time to time, and let us know how it's going! We love to hear success stories, and are always here for inspiration when you need it!

Good luck!

Melina

RoseReifsnyder

Thanks Melina! For the record, I just landed another assignment for a runner's magazine. I dashed off THAT query in about fifteen minutes - I wish they could all be so easy...

Rose

Mridu