PDA

View Full Version : Contracts, negotiations, royalties

type3secretion
11-06-2011, 06:23 PM
I just received word from my agent that a publisher has made an offer. I'm an unpublished author, very green, not knowing much about contracts etc. I've done some initial reading, but I wanted to get any feedback writers here would like to offer on the initial offer. There have been no negotiations yet (found out yesterday, agent found out late Friday).

Background: International thriller, ~100,000 words, author never published, Company making offer has published (under various imprints) ~2,500 books (1,600 in print) with about 100 books per year.

My information on the first offer:

$6,500 advance for World, ebook, and audio rights (paid in 3 installments: one half within 30 days of signing, one quarter within 30 days of delivery, and the remaining one quarter within 30 days following publication)

Trade paperback (their preferred format, although they do have the option for HC in the contract), the royalty split is as follows:
6% of net cash receipts on 1-7,500 copies
7.5% of net cash receipts on 7,501 – 20,000 copies
9% of net cash receipts on all copies thereafter
For ebook: 25% of net cash receipts for all copies sold
For audio: 10% of net cash receipts for all copies sold, or 50% of net monies received from licensing.

Based on the the stuff I'm reading online, including at Absolutewrite, the %'s look low, and, even more significantly, they are of net cash receipts, not cover price. Since net cash can be a very amorphous number, subject to many variables, it is, from what I've read, tricky to gauge and usually delivering much less than one would hope.

The advance seemed "fine" for the book and my unpublished status. And since I have a day job, I'm not hurting for cash, so I thought the negotiating capital should be spent on the royalties.