PDA

View Full Version : Is Reality TV "Reality" anymore?

CrastersBabies
11-01-2011, 09:03 PM
I've heard that many reality television shows are scripted, or that they push for drama.

I find that I'm becoming more and more disgusted with "reality television."

Furthermore, these competition shows are a farce to me. When I see some chick on Project Runway who won a beauty pageant (and seems VERY well off already) competing for prizes and prestige, I get a little miffed.

When I see a singer on American Idol or X-Factor (who *gasp* already has an album, already DOES shows, already tours) trying to win, it bothers me. I want some unknown up there, someone who isn't already successful. I don't want to give the person who already HAS their foot in the door another foot, I want it to go to some undiscovered talent.

Same with some of these other shows. "Yeah, I'm a lawyer and I make 250k a year, but I really want to own a restaurant instead."

I dunno. Where is reality television heading? I'm losing interest. I have been for a while.

Thoughts?

Snowstorm
11-01-2011, 09:11 PM
I don't take reality TV as reality. I think they call it "reality" just because they have to call that genre "something".

I think the TV producers are running out of ideas. I shudder to think how TV will be 10, 50 years from now.

Jehhillenberg
11-01-2011, 09:14 PM
Yeah, I know what you all mean. Couldn't agree more with the points.

Maybe at the inception of "reality shows" there was an essence of actual reality; the pioneering show about that family The Louds.

But 2000- is the era of reality TV and so it's just another form of television programming giving certain everyday people a chance at stardom.

I was highly disappointed to find out some of my favorite trashy reality TV shows are scripted to an extent. The betrayal! :D