PDA

View Full Version : Expats in India?

CyberForensicWriter
10-28-2011, 01:52 PM
There seems to be a shortage of us but I always look wherever I can. Anyone else in here living in India currently? Would love to touch base and swap ideas on managing an international freelance writer business. I'm a newbie I must admit and I'm just finding my way through but maybe we can swap ideas for what works and what doesn't.

L M Ashton
10-28-2011, 04:53 PM
I don't know about AW expats in India, but there are quite a few people on AW who are in India. Hopefully they'll stop by. :) I do know expats living in India, but they're not writers, so that doesn't help.

I'm a Canadian expat living in Sri Lanka, but I'm not working on freelance writing, so I don't have many suggestions for you.

Simran
10-30-2011, 08:09 AM
I don't know about AW expats in India, but there are quite a few people on AW who are in India. Hopefully they'll stop by. :) I do know expats living in India, but they're not writers, so that doesn't help.

I'm a Canadian expat living in Sri Lanka, but I'm not working on freelance writing, so I don't have many suggestions for you.

You are a hoot Laurie! :-) Just to add to this...I wish I was in India. Does that help any?

aruna
10-30-2011, 12:47 PM
I wish I was in India too! I plan to be an expat living in India at some point. My son is going ot be an expat in India from Monday onwards. He wants to raise his family there, at least for the first few years.
We all love India. Our problem is, India does not grant visas for longer than 6 months. The exception: USA! This is our greatest problem, actually. What nationality are you, FCW? Do you plan to get a busienss visa? That seems to be the only thing that might work!

L M Ashton
10-30-2011, 02:26 PM
I know Sri Lankans who've managed visas to India to work and live. Hmm, I wonder what they did? Although, honestly, laws in this region can be a bit strange to us westerners...

aruna
10-30-2011, 07:03 PM