names?

Status
Not open for further replies.

seeker_nomad

total newbie
Registered
Reaction score
Hi there,

How do you guys come up with names for your characters which are fantastic but not too fantastic? I feel like I always get stuck on names. I've started filling in "place holder" names like Bob, just to keep the story flowing.

Any hints?

MoLoLu

Registered
Reaction score
I know this feeling. Most of my names develop naturally out of something I connect with the character... somehow.

This might occur instantly or somewhere in the course of writing an entire story.

If all else fails I pick up a list of names and go poking around to see what might inspire other ones. Baby name lists tend to work best for me in that case.

Dave Hardy

Don't let your deal go down,
Registered
Reaction score
There's lots of ways to do that. You can just put together syllables, a lot of ERB's Martian names have that feel, unless someone knows the secret origin of "Dejah Thoris" & "Tars Tarkas".

HP Lovecraft went even further naming his weird beings with names that weren't meant for the human tongue: Cthulhu, Yog-Sothoth, Yuggoth, etc. That was the point, they had no connection with anything human.

You can just steal 'em from history. More or less every personal name & locality in the Conan stories comes from either history or legend. That fed into the premise that Conan's era was a forgotten past of our own.

Or you can make up your own languages like Tolkien did. He was a scholar of philology so he was able to adapt Welsh & Old English into his made up Elvish, Orcish & Human dialects.

dogfacedboy

Registered
Reaction score
I prefer to pull a random word out of the dictionary - preferably one or two syllables - and play with the lettering (specifically the vowels) to see if anything catchy comes up.

utopianmonk

Registered
Reaction score