Status
Not open for further replies.

Rhush

Slave to the metal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
I've learned that CreateSpace issues a free ISBN, but I was wondering if I should choose one of the other options.

They have a 2nd ISBN for $10 and a 3rd for around $100.

Im not opposed to one of these options, and I've read over the site a good bit, but I'm still uncertain if I should go with the free ISBN. Is there much of a difference? I really want to get behind my ms. and promote as musch as possible. Shoud I go ahead and purchase an ISBN?

Rhush

Slave to the metal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Ok. Hm. So if I'm wanting to spread the ms. around to various sites (and also eventually POD on CS, ect) I need to....?

Sorry! I know the answer was probably just given to me in the above answers, but I'm REALLY new to the self pubb'ing direction. :Shrug:

I also noticed that createspace will let you set yourself up as the publisher. Is that a better avenue?

AllisonK

Crazy Cat Lady
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allisonkraft.com
If you want to set yourself up as the publisher, you wouldn't be able to use their free ISBN. But doing that also requires some other work on your end, such as setting up a sole proprietorship or something similar (I'm not one for legal advice, but I researched this myself when I was getting ready to publish and decided it was too much trouble for my purposes.).

If you don't plan on setting up your own publishing company, then the free ISBN should be fine. It's what I used, and I'm happy with it. It only applies to the paperback edition of the book, which CS prints, so I don't really mind that CreateSpace shows as publisher of record. Some people don't like that, so spending the extra $10 to be able to put their own name or company as publisher is worth it.