Aramaic?

melnve

Registered
Reaction score
I've done a bit of a Google, and I think the written language is similar to Hebrew, is that right?

I am specifically looking for the Aramaic word for family, and I found this: משפחה

Does that look right? Or is that Hebrew and it would be different in Aramaic? If it's correct, how would it be pronounced?

Thank you for any help!

MJM

Not a fish, already have thick skin
Registered
Reaction score
Pretty sure that's Hebrew... sorry, I've been looking, but I don't have the right font package to use some of the sites. I'll keep looking, though. But, yes, the written language does look very similar to Hebrew.

Last edited:

Snick

Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
I am not an expert in those languages, but a few years ago I reead in a few places that late versions of Aramaic could be mistaken for Arabic. Apparently there were many dialects of Aramaic, and I believe that it is still spoken by a few small groups.

melnve

Registered
Reaction score
I am not an expert in those languages, but a few years ago I reead in a few places that late versions of Aramaic could be mistaken for Arabic. Apparently there were many dialects of Aramaic, and I believe that it is still spoken by a few small groups.

Interesting... I know lots of kids who speak and write Arabic, so if it is similar then I might be in a better position - I don't know anyone who speaks Hebrew (or Aramaic, obviously since I'm asking here).

Thanks!

MJM

Registered
Reaction score
Interesting... I know lots of kids who speak and write Arabic, so if it is similar then I might be in a better position - I don't know anyone who speaks Hebrew (or Aramaic, obviously since I'm asking here).

Thanks!