PDA

View Full Version : E-publishing income?

Pages : [1] 2

Chazemataz
10-14-2011, 06:27 AM
I'm sorry if this sounds silly or shallow in any way, but... long story short, I'm a broke college student with a couple of completed YA manuscripts sitting on my harddrive taking up space. I was thinking of uploading some to Smashwords as a source of supplemental income. Even if it's 20 extra dollars a month or something, I do not really care. I am mostly interested in the type of money people have made from this venture. Yes, I enjoy writing and all, but I also happen to be desperate for money and many people have said they enjoy my work, so I figured this was as good an option as any.

Thoughts? How much money have you made from, say, an average-selling e-book?

c.m.n.
10-14-2011, 07:54 AM
I also happen to be desperate for money

I haven't self-published yet (plans are still in the works) but your comment makes me ask: If you don't make your $20 a month goal, would you back out??

To get the most out of self-publishing it takes time. A lot of patience.

FYI: I'd also consider Amazon as well.

Little Ming
10-14-2011, 08:01 AM
Not a silly question, most of us want to make money from our writings. But what you're describing sounds more like self-publishing (which can be e-publishing), which is a lot more complicated and difficult than you may think. Unless you already have a reader base or are willing to do a lot of marketing and promotion, you're unlikely going to see $20 a month.

Check out the self-publishing section for more information.

Al Stevens
10-14-2011, 08:08 AM
Can't hurt to try. You're making zilch from your work now. Anything you made from a Kindle/Nook upload would be money you don't have. What can you lose? And, in the process, you'd learn all about what many see as the next big paradigm shift in publishing.

However, take some time and read everything you can find about how to do it right. Which is difficult to sort out since it's such a pioneering effort.