Designing ships for my fantasy

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
I'm what you might call a landlubber, and in creating my fantasy setting I've never had to design the ships being used or describe their exact function and capabilities. But now my current WIP features plot-important sea trips, and on-deck combat.

Now I'm wondering how to decide what type of real-life ship to copy and/or alter. Surely culture and circumstance play a role in what kind of ship people will believably develop?

The setting tech-level is roughly analogous to the 11th century and ships rarely stray far from the coast, but I'm not sure what else to give up that might affect development.

Any advice? Tips? Links to sites amateurs will understand?

GeorgeK

ever seeking
Registered
Reaction score
I'm far from a ship expert, but I think you'd need to decide on the weather and height of waves and a fun resource (not sure how accurate, but seems pretty good for the things I have looked up) is the computer game, "Sid Meier's Pirates." There's a pirate-o-pedia that describes the different ships, speeds, cargo capacity, sailing preferences etc. There's probably a wiki about it on line, so you probably wouldn't have to buy the game, but it is a fun game.

MJM

Not a fish, already have thick skin
Registered
Reaction score
The setting tech-level is roughly analogous to the 11th century and ships rarely stray far from the coast, but I'm not sure what else to give up that might affect development.

Any advice? Tips? Links to sites amateurs will understand?

Some would say this is a wives' tale -- the argument is, sailors, of all people, are in fact the ones who know, and have known for eons, that 'close to shore' is the most dangerous place in the sea due to tidal currents, sand or gravel barres, rocks, etc. You mentioned the 11th century, and that is the heyday of the Vikings, who sailed to Iceland, Greenland and the North American mainland in that time-frame.

efreysson