Bio graf

schamber

Dumas. Alexandre Dumas.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm writing a YA historical novel. I don't have any fictions creds, but I have been published in academic journals and I've won various national essay prizes that are important in my field. Additionally, I majored in the history of the period in which the book is set and I'm now getting a PhD in English lit. Does any of this belong in my bio paragraph? Or should I just omit the bio entirely? I kind of wonder if the academic stuff hurts instead of helping. I may sound like someone who can construct a coherent sentence, or I may sound like Dr. Dryasdust. Could go either way.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
If your credits have a direct bearing on what you write, then you can mention them, otherwise, they don't mean much and take up space.

quicklime

all out of fucks to give
Banned
Reaction score
I'm writing a YA historical novel. I don't have any fictions creds, but I have been published in academic journals and I've won various national essay prizes that are important in my field. Additionally, I majored in the history of the period in which the book is set and I'm now getting a PhD in English lit. Does any of this belong in my bio paragraph? Or should I just omit the bio entirely? I kind of wonder if the academic stuff hurts instead of helping. I may sound like someone who can construct a coherent sentence, or I may sound like Dr. Dryasdust. Could go either way.

I've always been of the opinion to leave it out.

I did notice Noah Lukeman seemed to have a bit of a hate-on for academics and journalists in his "First 5 Pages"; maybe not a full hate-on, but he didn't count those as positives for being able to write fiction, and mentioned several times that they often lead to folks with certain shortcomings.....specifically academics tended to waffle, refuse to commit, and go off on long, boring side tangents, journalists tended to have issues with summarizing dialogue.