Can public domain paintings be used to make a cover?

dondomat

Banned
Reaction score
I was just wondering. So many insanely good public domain works of art out there. Why not snip off a little bit and slap on one's name and book title?

Like here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Public_domain_image_resources

Or does 'public domain' mean 'you can't use it to make money'? In that case can one make free story covers that way? Anyway, I think B movie directors use public domain music frequently enough...

Ramble, ramble.

Last edited:

zegota

Fantastic!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.matthewborgard.com
I am not a lawyer, and this is not legal advice. But I'm 99.9% sure that public domain images can be used for covers. Best make sure it's actually public domain first, though, and if it's a more recent work that's in the public domain because the artist put it there, it'd probably be best to ask first, even though you don't technically have to.

areteus

Registered
Reaction score
Public domain means no one can claim copyright on it which means anyone can copy it and use it for whatever purpose. This is why some classical novels are now free on Amazon kindle or very cheap on paperback - they don't need to pay the authors or the original publishers anything to use them. Hence also why we can have novels like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies which are half the actual text of the original more or less copied with some minor changes and added scenes.

And there have been some classical works of art used as covers before so I assume it is either ok or there is a method to gain permission.

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
Yes.