From Blog to Book -- can it happen?

Pauly

Registered
Reaction score
After rejections from a hundred agents, many more revisions, and full confidence that my book will be published, I placed it on Wordpress, chapter by chapter, for my Facebook friends and LinkedIn contacts to see. They love it. It's memoir braided with history, a continuous narrative.

My novelist friends say I should take it down. My journalist friends say it may help me find a publisher. I'm unsure what to do as I begin to query indie publishers and more agents.

If you're an agent or editor, or if you've been through a very similar process, I'd love to hear from you. I'm an old pro with lots of publishing credits, but this is my first book. If you're just guessing... well, I've heard my share of guesses.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
It's online; it's published. There's no reason for an agent to take the time to try and sell something that's available for free, neither is there a reason for an editor to buy something which has already been circulated for free.

A few pages or a chapter is fine, but putting the whole book on line (especially if there are cached versions that will stay around long after you've removed it yourself) isn't going to do you any favors.

Lucy

sky with diamonds
Registered
Reaction score
After rejections from a hundred agents, many more revisions, and full confidence that my book will be published,

Just curious, why do you have full confidence it will be published? You've been rejected by agents "hundreds" of times by your own admission and that is the crowd you have to impress and get on board with your project.

Facebook and LinkedIn friends are great, but it is the same as saying "my friends and family love my book!" In other words, it means nothing. (Though I am sure it feels good to hear those things!)

To answer the question, no, an agent or editor will not pick up a book that has been published for free on the internet.