PDA

View Full Version : How Much Is Too Much When It Comes to Critiquing?

Alpha Echo
09-28-2011, 09:08 PM
I've just joined a writer's group! I real, live writer's group! I'm so excited! I go to my first meeting next Tuesday, October 4.

Here's my dilemma.

I was asked to merely critique at my first meeting rather than post work to be critiqued. That makes sense, and I'm fine with that.

I've printed, so far, two pieces to critique for the meeting.

I'm having trouble with one of them.

The guy paints a great picture. Seriously, I'm so there in the scene.

But...he tells when he could show. He uses a lot of passive voice. And there are quite a few places he could tighten up his sentences.

I am not published. I am no expert. But I think I am a pretty decent writer. I find it, partially at least, my duty to help others if I can.

But...how much is too much?

I've never met these guys. Not yet. I can't walk in there with his chapter completely marked up, can I?

Don't worry - I'm giving him praise when he deserves it. I list the good along with the bad, and there's quite a bit of good.

But I'm nervous to walk in there and hand him this paper with quite a bit of critique as well. I can see him looking at me thinking, "Who do you think you are? You're new, and you think you know it all?"

*sigh*

Help!

ETA: An example of one his sentences (well, two):

The ceiling had a huge crack in it that leaked when it rained, and the one bed it had was old and moldy. Its gray mattress had its springs popping out in all directions and when he slept on it the springs would creaked with every movement.

Here's how I'd change it:

When it rained, the water leaked through a huge crack in the ceiling. His bed was a single gray mattress with springs that poked him in his back when he slept and creaked with every movement.

Or something like that. That's just me making something up quickly.